Alao at Tutuila Island, American Samoa

Alao is a populated place on the narrow east coast of Tutuila Island, American Samoa. It is located close to the island’s easternmost point, just to the north of Aunu’u Island. Alao and Tula villages on the east end of Tutuila are the oldest settlements in American Samoa. They face a long, gorgeous surf beach, but be careful of the undertow from waves driven by the prevailing southeast trade winds. The road turns the northwestern point and climbs precipitously over a mountain ridge and down to Onenoa, a picturesque village tucked in a little bay. You’ll have a fine view of the north shore and the Cockscombs as you descend into Onenoa.
See the map of Alao here:

View Larger Map

Tutuila is the largest and the main island of American Samoa. It is the third largest island in the Samoan Islands chain. The island is distinctive in the Central Pacific for its large, natural harbor, Pago Pago Harbor, where Pago Pago, the capital of American Samoa is situated.

The area of the island is 141.81 km² (54.75 sq mi) with a population of 55,876 (2000 census). (These figures include Aunu’u Island, off the southeast coast of Tutuila, which has a land area of 1.517 km² and a population of 476.)

The highest point on Tutuila is Matafao Peak (653 m or 2142 ft).

Politically, the island is divided into two of American Samoa’s primary divisions, the Eastern District and the Western District.

In the early 19th century, Tutuila was called Maouna.

American Samoa en-us-American Samoa.ogg /əˈmɛrɪkən səˈmoʊə/ (help·info) (Samoan: Amerika Sāmoa  or Sāmoa Amelika) is an unincorporated territory of the United States located in the South Pacific Ocean, southeast of the sovereign state of Samoa (formerly known as Western Samoa). The main (largest and most populous) island is Tutuila, with the Manuʻa Islands, Rose Atoll, and Swains Island also included in the territory. American Samoa is part of the Samoan Islands chain, located west of the Cook Islands, north of Tonga, and some 300 miles (500 km) south of Tokelau. To the west are the islands of the Wallis and Futuna group. The 2000 census showed a total population of 57,291.  The total land area is 200.22 km2 (77 sq mi), slightly more than Washington, D.C. American Samoa is the southernmost territory of the United States.


Comments are closed.